My Blogging Experience

Over the course of this semester, I have been keeping two blogs. One for this class, and another for my Emergent Media class. Posting three blogs a week has allowed me to enhance my writing skills and learn so much. I have kept up with current events, especially relating to the media, in order to write informed blogs each week. I have also learned so much more than I would have if I wasn’t updating a blog. It has required me to pay attention and search for details.

http://www.aweber.com/blog-newsletters.htm WordPress is not the only available blogging medium

http://www.aweber.com/blog-newsletters.htm
There are several different mediums that can be used to blog

I am also grateful for the WordPress skills that I have gained. I believe that I will be able to use these skills for the rest of my career. Blogging is fun and a great way to post thoughts and opinions for others to read. Linking my blog to social media sites like Facebook and Twitter have helped to promote my blog and allow my blog to gain more readers. I believe that those two sites are the best ways to gain viewers. Looking back, I wish that I had added tags to my blog posts in order to make them more accessible to others on WordPress. This was something I should have done from the beginning, but only realized I could do towards the end of the semester. In the future, I will be more successful with my use of tags.

Learning how to use WordPress and how to customize a blog have been great skills to practice, along with my writing skills. It is a great way to learn and grow individually as a student. I really do think these 15 weeks of blog updates have helped me improve as a student and blogging is something that I hope to continue doing in the future. Blogs are a great way to connect with individuals who have similar interests and a great way to learn new things.

Donald Sterling Gets Banned

Donald Sterling, owner of the Los Angeles Clippers NBA team, has been quite a hot topic in the media this past week. TMZ released a recording of Sterling having a conversation with his girlfriend and throughout this conversation, Sterling speaks negatively about African Americans and tells his girlfriend that he does not want black people at his games. He says, “It bothers me a lot that you want to broadcast that you are associating with black people. Do you have to?” This is not the first incident of racist comments made by Sterling. Many people have taken to Twitter to express their feelings about Sterling’s comments.

The Clippers had a game against the Golden State Warriors on April 27th, just days after this incident came out. Rather than boycott the game, the Clippers wore their warm-up shirts inside out to protest Sterling and the team logo. The next day, Miami Heat players did the same in their game to show support for the Clippers. On Tuesday, April 29th, NBA Commissioner Adam Silver announced that Sterling would be banned for life from the NBA and fined $2.5 million for his actions, which is the maximum fine you can receive. He also said that he will be encouraged to sell the Clippers.

Since this announcement, I have seen some people comment saying that it is a violation of his first amendment rights. However, that is incorrect. No one is taking away Donald Sterling’s right to speak, they are simply removing his platform that allows him to be heard. Racism is something that should not be tolerated anywhere today, let alone in such a high-profile organization like the NBA. I absolutely believe that Silver made the right decision. A team owner should have respect for his players and his coaches, and Sterling clearly had none. Someone with his views and opinions should not be in such a high position of power. I cannot imagine how the African Americans who play for the Clippers must have felt hearing what Sterling had to say. For their sake, I hope Sterling sells the team to someone who gives them the respect they deserve.